Chiropractic and You

  • Your First Visit

    Learn what to expect on your first visit to a chiropractor.
  • Chiropractic Adjustment

    Learn more about chiropractic treatment.

Chiropractic health care

The word “chiropractic” comes from ancient Greek and means “done by hand.”

Adjustment of the joints of the body has been used in the healing arts for many centuries and is at the heart of modern chiropractic care.

Chiropractors are specialists in manual adjustment of the vertebrae of the spine and other joints of the body. Adjustment helps relieve pain and restore normal functioning to the joints and supporting muscles and ligaments – so you can enjoy your everyday activities again as quickly as possible.

Your chiropractor will recommend a course of treatment specific to you that may also include mobilization of the joints, ultrasound, muscle release techniques, muscle stimulation and therapeutic exercises.  Chiropractors are also trained to provide nutritional counselling, and recommend rehabilitation and injury prevention strategies.

Back health is important

The body’s information highway – your nervous system – is protected by the spine. The nervous system travels out between the vertebrae or joints of the spine to carry messages from the brain to every corner of your body. Stress and strain on the vertebrae can put pressure on the nerves in the affected area. That is why a problem with your spine can have far-reaching effects causing symptoms such as arm or leg pain.

When to consider chiropractic care

If aching joints and muscle pain are affecting your ability to get through the day and keeping you away from your favourite activities, consider chiropractic care.  Work, accidents, sports injuries, household chores, even the stress of daily living can cause painful joint and back problems. Even if you do not have painful symptoms, chiropractic care can help you maintain healthy spine and joint function.

Here are some of the most common reasons why more than 4 million Canadians visit a chiropractor each year:

  • Back pain
  • Neck pain
  • Headache
  • Whiplash
  • Strains and sprains from daily activities
  • Repetitive strain injuries
  • Work and sports-related injuries
  • Arthritis
  • Restricted movement in the back, shoulders, neck or limbs

Benefits of chiropractic care

Chiropractic treatment is skilled, hands-on health care that relieves pain and helps your body be its best. Here are some of the ways it can help you.

  • Improved movement in your neck, shoulders, back and torso
  • Better posture
  • Relief from headaches, neck and back pain
  • Prevention of work-related muscle and joint injuries
  • Enhanced athletic performance
  • Improved flexibility
  • Relief of pregnancy-related back ache
  • Correction of gait and foot problems

Locate a chiropractor near you!

La chiropratique. Pour vous.

  • Votre première consultation

    Voici comment se déroulera votre première consultation en chiropratique.
  • L’ajustement chiropratique

    Pour en savoir plus sur le traitement chiropratique.

La chiropratique

Le terme « chiropratique » provient du grec ancien et signifie « fait à la main ».

La chiropratique moderne se fonde sur l’ajustement des articulations, un art de soigner qui se pratique depuis des siècles.

Les chiropraticiens sont spécialisés dans l’ajustement manuel des vertèbres de la colonne et autres articulations. L’ajustement aide à soulager la douleur et à restaurer le fonctionnement normal de la colonne, des articulations, des muscles et des ligaments, afin que vous puissiez reprendre vos activités quotidiennes le plus rapidement possible.

Votre chiropraticien ou chiropraticienne vous recommandera un traitement adapté à vos besoins. Il peut inclure la mobilisation articulaire, les ultrasons, des techniques de détente ou de stimulation musculaire et des exercices thérapeutiques. Les chiropraticiens sont également formés pour vous donner des conseils en matière de nutrition et de stratégies de réadaptation et de prévention des blessures.

L’importance de la santé du dos

L’autoroute de l’information de votre corps, votre système nerveux, est protégée par la colonne vertébrale. Le système nerveux passe entre les vertèbres ou articulations de la colonne pour transmettre les messages du cerveau à toutes les parties de votre corps. Toute tension exercée sur une vertèbre peut comprimer les nerfs qui sillonnent la zone. C’est pourquoi un problème au niveau de la colonne peut affecter d’autres zones et causer, par exemple, des douleurs à un bras ou à une jambe.

Quand consulter en chiropratique

Si les douleurs articulaires ou musculaires vous empêchent de mener à bien vos tâches courantes ou de vous adonner à vos activités préférées, vous devriez consulter en chiropratique. Le travail, un accident, une blessure de sport, les tâches ménagères et même le stress de la vie quotidienne peuvent provoquer des problèmes articulaires et dorsaux douloureux. Même si vous ne ressentez pas de douleurs, la chiropratique peut maintenir le bon fonctionnement de votre colonne vertébrale et de vos articulations.

Voici quelques-unes des principales raisons pour lesquelles plus de quatre millions de personnes au Canada consultent tous les ans en chiropratique :

  • Douleurs dorsales
  • Douleurs cervicales
  • Céphalées
  • Coup de fouet
  • Foulures et entorses dans le cadre des activités courantes
  • Blessures d’usure
  • Blessures de nature professionnelle ou sportive
  • Arthrite
  • Contraintes de mouvement du dos, des épaules, du cou ou des membres

Les bienfaits de la chiropratique

La chiropratique est un traitement manuel hautement spécialisé qui soulage la douleur et aide le corps à être au mieux. Voici ce que la chiropratique peut faire pour vous.

  • Amélioration du mouvement du cou, des épaules, du dos et du torse
  • Amélioration de la posture
  • Soulagement des maux de tête et des douleurs dorsales et cervicales
  • Prévention des blessures musculaires et articulaires de nature professionnelle
  • Optimisation des performances sportives
  • Amélioration de la souplesse
  • Soulagement des douleurs dorsales liées à la grossesse
  • Correction de problèmes de pieds et de démarche

Trouver un chiropraticien près de chez vous !